Jonathan Toews: Seriously Sexy

Posted: November 11, 2011 in Blackhawks
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Jonathan Toews: Captain Sex Appeal.

Jonathan Toews, oh Jonathan Toews…you are every girl under 24’s dream (and the dream of many 24+ as well).  Ask most Toews fans what it is that makes him sexy, and they’ll all say the same thing:  everything.  Let’s face it; the boy is damn good looking.  I mean, just look at him in that suit!  Even dressed in his “I just played hockey for a few hours, I’m sweating and all I want to do is go home” clothes with that red, pressure-induced helmet indent on his forehead, he still looks like a prize.  He has some captivating dark eyes, a winner of a crooked smile and a body like a god.  (Of course, I’m assuming on this one…I’ve never seen it, I promise.  No really, I promise.  You all would have heard about that if there was ever a moment between me and Toews where something as awkward as that happened…)  Sure, the awkward faces in the action shots make us all laugh, but let’s take, for example, that new commercial about his pre-game speech.  He’s lookin’ pretty good, eh? (See what I did there….?)  I’ve never been obsessed with Toews because quite frankly,  I’m too old to jump on his “sexy wagon,” but I will freely admit that Toews is a ridiculously good looking young man.  OUTSTANDINGLY good looking.  I can see where these loving ladies are coming from, and I UNDERSTAND!  He’s hot like “I wish I had another younger sister so I could fix up the two of them and then secretly eye him at holiday parties in a totally innocent you’re-my-family-but-not-really-so-I-don’t-feel-like-a-creeper sort of way.” That’s normal, right?  Whatever, I think so.  He’s incredibly gorgeous.  That’s all there is to it. 

Ugh, what a smile! (And look how young he looks here!)

Anyway, besides the obvious , there’s so much about Jonathan Toews that makes him sexy:  leadership, talent, professionalism, and CLASS.  It’s true, he’s a class act, both on and off the ice.  Everyone I meet says the same thing once they meet him:  he is just a genuinely nice, polite person.  Lord ain’t that the truth.  He has manners, which is more than can be said about most people in this world.  He says “please” and “thank you.”  As one of my contributors put it, “[I think] Toews [is sexy] for his manners.  He holds the door for me all the time.”  My favorite demonstration of his polite, “fans are people too” brain was the night they brought home the Stanley Cup.  Yep, I was one of those weirdoes out at Harry Caray’s at 2am or whatever time it was.  (Hey, it’s down the street from my house, it was an amazing night, and there was a lot of alcohol in all of us that night… like I was going to miss out, even if I had already resigned to my hoodie and pajama pants…yes, the drunkenly homemade ones that say “Sharp” across my ass.)  Toews was one of the first members of the team to come outside and greet everyone standing around to welcome them (and the Cup) home.  That in itself may be impressive because he was bringing out the shiny, treasured big piece-o-metal on the first night of ownership, but what really impressed me was that not only was he one of the first ones out there, but he was one of the last to leave.  He stood outside, talked with everyone, signed countless autographs, took pictures with anyone who asked and socialized with the fans that were as excited as he was…literally from the dark of midnight until dawn (when I finally had to leave, go home, shower and go straight to work.  Epic.)  In our picture from that night, the sun is up.  I can’t name one other person on that team that showed such dedication to “the fans.”  I don’t think there was one person there that night (er, morning?) who didn’t get an autograph if they tried.  I had nothing to get signed, and I remember as he was standing in front of me for a good few minutes, he kept asking me, “are you sure you don’t have anything?  I’m here.  No sketch?  Nothing?  How about a jersey?  A towel?  Come on!” while smiled and pushed items out of my face that were being handed to him over my head.  He constantly checked on me and my friends to make sure we were okay, as the crowd was getting a little pushy at times, and he was absolutely a charmer.  He’s always been that way…every time I’ve ever seen him.  (Sure, everyone has bad days and gets moody sometimes, but can you blame him? 

What a cutie. For real.

He’s Jonathan Toews.  Captain.  Mr. Responsibility.  He carries the weight of a team on his young shoulders.  Sometimes being a leader is stressful, people!)  Class act.  So what else makes Jonathan Toews sexy?  Oh man, the list just goes on.  I got responses about everything from his moles, to his silly crooked smile, his occasional unbuttoned shirts, his red carpet suit, his eyes, his goofy faces and his mysteriousness. And just for a moment, can we mention his skill as a player?  Oh yeah, remember, he’s actually a fairly decent hockey player…and just might have what it takes to be Captain someday.  Oh, wait, that’s right…HE IS.  If I were to write about everything that people submitted to me about Toews, we’d be here for days.  He is just that great of a person to so many people.  Now, as much as I’ve been trying to find a way to write about him without bringing back the whole “Captain Serious” thing, I just can’t.  I’m sorry, Jonny, I just have to do this, because it’s true, and it fits my flow here.  I know he’s all about trying to shed the name, but I’m sorry, the name sticks, because it is what you are.  You are serious, you take your job seriously, you take pride in what you do day-in-and-day-out, and you treat people with the respect they deserve, no matter who they are or what their “status” may be.  Whether they’re a fan, another player, media member, whatever…you realize that they are all human and deserve to be treated with respect.  Your seriousness adds to your sex appeal, whether you want it to or not, so just accept the nickname for what it is, and do what you do.  Roll with it, stop fighting it, and we will all get a long perfectly, okay?  Stop rolling your eyes at your mom (who, by the way, is one of the sweetest ladies I’ve ever seen.  I want to hug her on a regular basis) and just take it!  Truly, I do apologize for this, but you’re going to have to deal.  Jonathan Toews, you easily take the title of “Seriously Sexy.” 

Toews...just makin' his faces.

As such a young man with so much responsibility, you handle it with class, poise, mystery and a classic “lead-by-example” attitude.  You practice what you preach, and your leadership rubs off on those around you.  You are a young man wise beyond your years with the knowledge and skill to be a leader for many years to come…and you do it all while capturing the hearts of women of all ages.  You haven’t let that pretty face go to your head (yeah, because that made sense.  Grammar and/or metaphor wizard is on vacation today, apparently, but you know what I mean) and I predict that you never will.  Teach the newcomers how to be sexy, serious and genuine.  They are the future (Cue Whitney Houston…) you have the power to influence these men and be their role model.  If you stay true to the man you are today, the future of hockey players taken under your wing is insanely promising.  Stay classy, you wonderful young man.  The sports world has been waiting for a man like you.

And by the way, can we do this again....like, REALLY SOON?

Leave a comment